CMMI for Development, CMMI for Services, CMMI for Acquisition

What is CMMI

Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process level improvement training and appraisal program. Administered by the CMMI Institute, a subsidiaryof ISACA, it was developed at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). It is required by many United States Department of Defense (DoD) and U.S. Government contracts, especially in software development. CMU claims CMMI can be used to guide process improvement across a project, division, or an entire organization. CMMI defines the following maturity levels for processes: Initial, Managed, Defined, Quantitatively Managed, and Optimizing. Version 2.0 was published in 2018.

CMMI addresses three areas of interest:

Product and service development - CMMI for Development (CMMI-DEV),
Service establishment, management, - CMMI for Services (CMMI-SVC), and
Product and service acquisition - CMMI for Acquisition (CMMI-ACQ).

Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI), as the name suggests, is a model that helps an organization to achieve a certain capability and maturity in terms of its people, processes, tools and technology. CMMI has three constellations namely Development (Dev), Services (SVC) and Acquisition (ACQ). It is a set of best practices that have been used and proven successfully worldwide and across various industries like IT, Manufacturing, Telecommunications etc. These best practices are placed under different categories like Project Management, Engineering, Process Management and Support. The organizations have two choices to begin the CMMI implementation. They can either select the individual processes from the categories described above and proceed for improvement path (Capability / Continuous) or they can select the maturity level they desire to achieve and implement a pre defined set of processes of each maturity level (Maturity / Staged). Cost in terms of monetary and person hours of the overall program depend on several factors like size and scope of the organization, scope of CMMI Model (e.g. ML3 or ML5) etc.CMMI – Capability Maturity Model Integrated is a collection of best practices successfully applied in various organizations like IT service provider, government agencies in executing projects. Similar domain best practices are grouped and put together in their respective area called as “Process Areas (PAs)” like Project Planning, Project Monitoring and Control, there are 22 and 24 PAs in CMMI Dev and SVC respectively. These PAs are further categorized in different maturity levels (Initial, Managed, Defined, Quantitatively Managed, Optimizing) and categories (Project (Work) Management, Support, Process Management, Engineering (Dev); Service Establishment and Delivery (SVC).

At ECL, with our 25 years of extensive global experience in Consultancy & Appraisals we see this as an opportunity to help organizations to meet their intended need of achieving process improvement using the CMMI Model (both Dev and SVC). We provide CMMI Model Awareness trainings to the organizations so that all relevant stakeholders getawareness of the model. Thenthe teams are formed for executing the CMMI activities to handhold with anECL CMMI expert.The implementation activities are closely monitored till closure. These activities mainly include Process Gap Analysis, Process Definition, Process Implementation and Check Point Review (CPR). On successful completion of CPR the appraisal planning and preparation phase gets started with the CMMI SCAMPI Lead Appraiser who performs SCAMPI B (Optional) Assessment and one or two Readiness Reviews (as required). On the basis of readiness review result the Go/No-Go decision is taken. Once the Decision is “Go”, the SCAMPI A is conducted within the stipulated time.

We understand that the world is full of wider opportunities and we can go alone a little but to leap we have to take help of associates and other groups who are in the arena of CMMI. For this weare already working with CMMI associates and successfully completed many projects with them. Similarly, we are happy to extend our partnership with reputed organizations like yours. There is no highly sophisticated procedure to get in the agreement we have tried to make it as lean as possible to get along.
Primarily, we are following certain steps as given below while we take up any CMMI assessment project, after signing agreement between ECL and Client:

  1. Contract between ECL and Client aspiring for CMMI assessment
  2. Meeting (Face to Face / Skype Call) with the Sponsor and client SPOC to finalize the appraisal dates (atleast one month advance)
  3. Appraisal registration in SAS
  4. Appraisal Planning
  5. ATM CMMI Model Training (if required)
  6. Readiness Review and ATM Method Training
  7. SCAMPI A (though duration depends on several factors but mostly it is 5 days onsite period)
  8. Submit the result in SAS within 2 days of appraisal last onsite day
  9. Publishing the result in PARS within 30 days of submission (depends on CMMI Institute SLA)
For further details on technical clarifications please contact to Mr. V K Saxena +91-9315879683 and for commercials proposals please contact to Mr. Mukul Johari at +91-9540751844.

Wishfully looking ahead for quick and positive association.

What is CMMI Appraisal / Assessment

CMMI Appraisal is a benchmarking exercise of the organization which is performed by the CMMI Institute qualified Lead Appraiser and a team of Assessment Team Members under his supervision. The benchmarking is done against the CMMI Model (Dev/SVC/ACQ/PCMM). It could result in a Maturity Level of the assessed organization which gets published at the CMMI Institute website. The ML rating signifies that the organization is process oriented and following certain standard practices in delivering their services or product management, the employees are accountable on their deliverables, they are using optimum tools and technology to meet the high productivity and deliver the high quality products within agreed timeframe. All these practices are repeatable in nature and thus increase the confidence of customer for repetitive orders. Organizations also refer this as a competitive differentiation factor from their competitors.

Why Build Capability?

Knowing your organization’s key capabilities creates new value.

When an organization’s distinctive capabilities are clearly defined, everything and everyone within the organization begins to positively reinforce each other. The business takes on new life as people know and focus on putting standard processes in place to strengthen their key capabilities.

Organizations that know their capabilities see results:

  • Increased customer satisfaction.
  • Increased probability of capturing new and repeat business.
  • Increased profit through improved quality and less rework.
  • Increased productivity.
  • Decreased risks.

Connect with a CMMI Partner

CMMI Institute has experienced partners to get you started on your journey to improve your organizational performance. EQUALITAS CERTIFICATIONS LIMITED is a CMMI PARTNER

Lead Appraiser Summary

Vikendra Kumar Saxena, Dipak Dahale and Devendra Kaur are CMMI Lead Appraisers of Equailtas Certifications Limited.

Professional Qualifications:
  • Certified Lead Appraiser - DEV V2.0
  • Certified Lead Appraiser - SVC V2.0
  • Lead Auditor for ISO 9001 (QMS), ISO 14001 (EMS), ISO 45001 (OHS), ISO 22000 (FSMS), ISO/IEC 27001 (ISMS) and ISO/IEC 20000-1.
  • Certified Six Sigma Green Belt
  • 20years’ experience in the industry.

for more details visit